The Story Continues

Reading through the first draft of my short story made me realize that it needs much, much more.

Walking back from the gym with my daughter, listening to classical music through the speaker on our stroller (so cool, by the way – kudos to whoever dreamed that up), a thought bubble appeared. Then another, and another. Good grief. Just when you think you’re ready to move on to the next step. Part of me wants to be done with this story for a little while, and head back to the novel, but three things need to happen first:

  1. I need to flesh out this short story, on top of these bare bones.
  2. I need to find a way to make my writing less “choppy.” Being matter-of-fact is my fatal flaw. I have no problem moving the story forward, figuring out the situation, but I must learn to make it flow.
  3. I need a more thorough, yet simple outline for the novel.

Also! I’m realizing that I completely love my protagonist(s) for the first time. I’m involved. I look forward to getting these words to paper screen.

I’d love to hear what others are working on, and their process. Feel free to comment!

-Sara

Leave a Reply

