Energy Slump!

Something I must forgive myself for are “energy slumps.” For the last two days, books and toys have been littering the living room floor and I just haven’t wanted to pick them up. I’ve been waking up at 7am, just in time to get my son ready for school, rather than what I intended–waking up at 5:30 to write. The laundry is piled up and I haven’t read a book in almost a week. I actually did clean the kitchen counter yesterday and did a load of dishes! But then my boyfriend made dinner, and when he does that, the kitchen is a war zone. I just don’t have the energy.

But! I forced myself awake at 6am (after a VERY weird dream about being at a Michelin star restaurant and being served a live angler fish that I had to kill myself and instead it swam after me trying to eat my face – PURE TERROR), and put down 450 words. Hitting the gym today to do 9-miles, which already I’m kind of dreading because my legs are still sore from yesterday’s workout. I have it written down in my planner though, and the planner is law. Or at least, I would like it to be.

So if I run 9-miles today, I should know that I will be exhausted. I shouldn’t feel shitty about not cleaning around the house, when it’s usually clean. I mean, following everyone around and cleaning up after them, is kind of driving me crazy. If anything else, I did already write 450 words today, and I can feel good about that. I think tomorrow morning, I’ll work on another writing prompt for flash fiction. I had fun with “1986 Red Bordeaux Blend” – though I’d like to edit it a little more. Anyway!

Happy writing!

-Sara

Leave a Reply

